The Recycle Bin

The Recycle Bin is a temporary holding area for deleted assets which helps prevent loss of content. All assets (pages, files, folders, block, link items, etc) are sent to the Recycle Bin when deleted. Assets in the Recycle Bin can be restored to their original location or purged from the system permanently either one at-a-time or in bulk.

Note: you will only have 15 days to recover content from your Recycle Bin before it is permanently deleted.

Accessing the Recycle Bin

To access the Recycle Bin, click the link on the Dashboard or the link in Quick Links.

Recycle bin is accessible from both the Quick Links and Dashboard.

Recycle bin is accessible from both the Quick Links and Dashboard.

Restoring Assets

To restore an individual asset back to its original location, click the green Restore icon in the Actions column.

Restore a single asset screenshot

To restore multiple assets, select the assets using the checkboxes in the left column.  Then click the "With Selected:" drop down menu, and select Restore.

Restore multiple asset screenshot

Restoring Invalid Assets

An asset may become "invalid" if certain required relationships are broken, such as a missing parent folder or Content Type.  When trying to restore an invalid asset, the user is required to select reassignments for each broken relationship.

For example, Page A is deleted and sent to the Recycle Bin.  Later, its original parent folder is deleted.  When the user tries to restore Page A, he/she will be presented with an asset reassignment screen which allows a new parent folder to be selected before the Page is restored.

Asset restore-reassignment screenshot

The same concept applies to restoring multiple assets.

Restoring multiple invalid assets screenshot

In the multiple reassignment scenario, the user can select one reassignment for all assets or separate reassignments for individual assets.  The "for all" reassignment is applied to any assets that do not have an individual reassignment.

If there are more than 20 invalid assets, the user can only make the reassignment to all of them.

Deleting Assets

An asset is not permanently deleted until it is removed from the Recycle Bin, either manually by you or automatically if after the 15 day limit.  To permanently delete an asset from the Recycle Bin, click the red "Delete" icon in the Actions column. If you do not see the red "Delete" icon, you may not permanently delete assets.

Deleting a single asset

To permanently delete multiple assets, select the assets using the checkboxes in the left column, click the "With Selected:" drop down menu and select Delete.

Deleting multiple assets screesnhot

To permanently delete everything* in the Recycle Bin, click the Empty Recycle Bin link at the bottom of the table.

Deleting all assets screenshot

* Note that emptying the recycle bin will only permanently delete items in the current Site that are visible for the current user.

What can I see and do in the Recycle Bin?

A user's abilities (i.e., Web CMS roles) dictate which assets he or she can see in a particular Recycle Bin.  By default, all users are able to see and restore all assets that they have deleted.  

This allows users to have different Recycle Bin abilities per site. For example, a user may have the ability to permanently delete assets in Site A, but not have that ability in Site B.