Publishing content

Publishing is the final step—from working in the Web CMS to saving to your Web server—and the page being live on a development or production server.

The Publish action is available for:

  • Pages
  • Files (including images and documents)
  • Folders
  • Sites

Preparing to Publish

When site development has reached a point where you're ready to publish out your content to either a development or production server, it's important to make sure that publishing is even possible. A user with a site manager role needs to configure the Transport and Desintation connections between your CMS site and your intended server destination before this process is possible. We have documentation on how to connect via SFTP or SAN Mount for managers to use.

Publishing the site for the first time

When the above connections have been made and you're ready to publish your site to configured destination the first time, please remember to publish your ENTIRE site to ensure that all necessary files are sent to your hosting environment. Follow these steps:

  1. Click on the Base Folder in your asset tree.
  2. In the preview pane, click on the checkbox next to the Name label or look at the bottom of the folder view table to where it says "Select all" and click the link. This will check all the boxes in your site.
  3. Click on the Publish tab at the top of your preview pane.
  4. A new screen will appear offering the opportunity to select the designated server Destination(s). Select the locations where you want your site content sent.
  5. Click the Submit button to publish your site.
  6. Optionally, to view the site upload progress:
    1. Click on the swirly icon just to the left of your Home button at the top of your browser screen. 
    2. From the drop-down menu, choose Publisher, then Active Jobs.
    3. Another screen will appear showing you the active publish queue. Your publish job will show up with an incremented completion number from 0% to 100%. When it finishes uploading you can check your destination server to see the completed output.

To publish a page:

  1. You can publish a page using a couple different methods. From the Preview pane while looking at the page you wish to publish, you can click on the Publish tab at the top, confirm your Destination(s) and then click Submit to publish.
  2. Alternately, you can publish from the folder view. If the page is at the root level of the site, click on the Base Folder, else click on the subfolder containing your page. In the folder view, click on the checkbox next to your page, then from the bottom of the preview pane, use the With selected menu and choose Publish. Check your Destination(s) and then click Submit to publish.
    publish page
  3. Click Submit to publish the page. You should see a green message bar saying, "Publish message sent successfully.”

To publish whole folders:

The easiest way to publish whole folders is from the Base Folder's folder view in the preview pane:

  1. Click on the Base Folder from the Asset Tree.
  2. When the Base Folder's folder view appears in the preview pane of your screen select the folder(s) you want to publish using the checkbox(es) along the left side.
  3. Look to the bottom of the folder view screen to the light grey text reading, "With Selected: Select one" and, from the drop-down menu, choose the Publish option.
  4. Note, this option will default to publishing to your site's default server Destination(s) based on settings chosen by your site manager. Once the publish process is complete, you can view the output on the related development and/or production web site.

Publishing a block

A block, by its very nature, is not a publishable asset. In order for you to publish content you've created in a block, the block must be attached to a page. The page itself is what is published. The content in the block will be pulled along with the rest of the page because its content has been associated with that page.

Unpublishing Content

To unpublish an asset:

  1. Navigate to the asset.
  2. Click the Publish tab.
  3. Select the Destinations holding the asset(s) you wish to unpublish.
  4. Click the Un-publish radio button, as shown below.

    unpublish content

  5. Click Submit to proceed.

For those who are technical: Assembled content is transformed into native XML files, standard HTML, and/or .NET files (.aspx). Upon the publishing of content, the information is completely decoupled from the CMS, allowing it to operate independently in any standard environment.